
Rules for Commander Precon Plus 

1. Pick up any Precon Commander deck 

Currently, nothing is banned when it comes to deck selection. However, we do have a 
watch list of the following decks: 

- Tricky Terrain Precon from MH3 

This deck has proven to be very potent since it was released. Unfortunately, even with the 
format changes, the deck still has access to the Maze’s End combo as it is technically not 2 
card infinite. However, it does limit the tutor access the deck once had. It has been on the 
watch list since the end of last year, but we wanted to see how it operates under the new 
format changes as other decks can now hopefully add tools to interact with this deck. The 
Quick Draw deck from Thunder Junction was on this list previously. However, with the 
changes to the format, we do not see it being an issue going forward. 

If your Precon comes with a banned card, you must swap that card out as one of your 
upgrades.  
 

2. You have a 15 card/$50 limit to make upgrades to your deck. 

That’s right! We upgraded the card count to 15 from the previous 10. We have had some 
feedback over the past year plus and a lot of people felt the 10-card limit felt a bit too 
restrictive. However, we are not going to increase the budget currently but slightly shift how 
your budget is spent. We feel this keeps things interesting with your choices. 

• The normal Commander ban/restricted list still applies  

• Prices are checked by TCG market. Cards are always worth a minimum of 25 cents. 
However, you will always round down to the nearest quarter in change value. This is to 
create cleaner math and have the format be less volatile to slight price changes. 
Example: A card TCG market price of $9.99 would be $9.75 for your $50 Precon budget. 
However, a card that is $0.10 would round up to $0.25. 

• No prices are locked in once they are added to your Precon deck. The price of your 
upgrades must be kept up with.  

• You go by the lowest priced printing of a card even if you are using a more expensive 
version.  

• You can change out basic lands for different basic lands freely without it going against 
your 15 card limit upgrades. This is to help make sure you can keep a good mana curve. 



Example: Your deck comes with 8 forests and 5 swamps. However, you take out 15 green 
cards and add 15 black cards. You can change out any number of forests to put in an equal 
number of Swamps to accommodate your new additions.  

 
3. Precon Plus will now use the new Commander Bracket system 

Instead of our old wonky ban list of tutors, we are now shifting over to the new bracket 
system. This will help keep things cleaner and hopefully less questionable when it comes 
to what you can and can’t add. Decks will be expected to stay in the level 2 Core bracket. 
That means no adding cards from the Game Changer list, no mass land denial, no chaining 
extra turns, no intentional 2-card infinite combos, and only a few tutors allowed.  

With that last rule we are limiting the number of tutors you can add from your 15 cards to 2. 
This includes any tutors that search for anything more than a basic land. If the tutor can 
only get basic lands, it does not count against the limit. However, even if it just gets a land 
type, it does count towards your 2-tutor limit. 
Examples: Cards like Harrow, Ordeal of Nylea, and Fabled Passage do not count towards 
the 2-tutor limit. However, cards like Krosan Verge, Sterling Grove, Circuitous Route, and 
Varragoth, Bloodsky Sire would go towards your 2-tutor limit. 

That brings us to Game Changers that come stock in Precons. If your Precon comes with a 
Game Changer list card, it may stay in the deck. So far none of these decks abuse the 
power of the added Game Changer cards in them that we have seen. However, with the 
addition of more Game Changers being added as of 4/22/2025, we will keep an eye on the 
new Precons with Game Changers that were added to the previous 5 that already existed.  

More information on this and the updated Game Changers list can be found at this link: 
https://magic.wizards.com/en/news/announcements/commander-brackets-beta-update-
april-22-2025 

 
4. Your Commander must be from your Precon deck. 

Finally, we have our Commander rule. The Commander you use has to be from the Precon 
deck you are playing, not from one of your added cards. However, you do not have to use 
the main stay Commander advertised on the deck box. You can switch out any other 
Commander option that comes in the Precon as your Commander for the deck if it sticks 
with the correct color identity.  

 

https://magic.wizards.com/en/news/announcements/commander-brackets-beta-update-april-22-2025
https://magic.wizards.com/en/news/announcements/commander-brackets-beta-update-april-22-2025


(Please note that this ruleset is a work in progress. Anything listed here is subject to change 
as new players get involved and we come across any issues with the ruleset. We look 
forward to growing this format with our community!) 


